300DaysOfDevOps:

"This is my Journey through DevOps for 10 months."

·

4 min read

300DaysOfDevOps:

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

About Me:

Hey Folks! Am Vishwa, DevOps and OpenSource Enthusiast. Currently am doing LearnInPublic and BuildInPublic where I'll be documenting my entire journey on LinkedIn and Twitter to be accountable and to connect with many like-minded peoples to seek knowledge from them and help each other. I already published my first 90DaysOfDevOps learnings as an article. In this article am going to share about the next 210 days of the DevOps journey.

90DaysOfDevOps:

Here is the link for my first 90DaysOfDevOps, Read Here!

What did I learn?

In the first three months, I was learning the prerequisites of DevOps like practicing Linux, learning Golang, and knowing the concepts of Computer Networks, and learning Git & GitHub. Along with learning, I helped many folks out there kick-start their learning journey by suggesting good resources & by clearing their doubts and I also got much support from communities and folks to be on track.

In the next seven months. I started learning about Containerization using Docker, YAML, and Configuration Management using Ansible along with learning Me & two friends and worked on our Semester project which is Building a CICD Pipeline for a Web Application, Written several GO applications using OpenSource for guidance.
Practiced Linux, Go, and Revised Networks too by teaching some of my friends.
Contributed to several beginner-friendly projects like adding good resources, fixing typos & reviewing codes.

Faced a lot of burnout, did many mistakes, and tried hard to be consistent, I'll be sharing those in this article itself.

Where I went wrong & the mistakes I made?

In the next seven months, I faced a lot of burnout and missed out on my track due to academics, exams, and personal problems even then I tried my best to be on the journey to maintain my Consistency but I always had a feeling of, "It's not enough, need to work more than the first three months". Planned to attend a lot of Offline meetups but I didn't.

Mistakes I made are, On the semester exam times I was not able on track to learning DevOps and another reasons are in our university they have 80% attendance criteria and I maintained more than 95% in all the semesters so literally eight hours will be no learning time. I'll share How I survived these situations
below.

Things I figured out to be more efficient:

To be consistent enough you need to prioritize your task, scheduling the time helped me a lot to cover things. Surround yourself with positive-minded people, my friends are also one of the reasons for my consistency, we always used to talk about things that are in progress and about what's next to be done.

During exam time, I was setting the time for learning DevOps and Academics, I tried learning for at least an hour or even 30 minutes on DevOps. To overcome the compulsion of attending lectures in the classrooms, am a last bencher so I was using Twitter and LinkedIn by sitting in the corner, I used to read threads, make connections, finding & bookmarking resources like that. These kinds of small habits helped me figure out a lot of things and made me efficient.

How I overcame a lot of burnout?

By working continuously without having small breaks in work time, at some point in time, everybody will face inconsistency. Solutions that helped me to overcome burnout are I set small breaks while learning, hearing songs, walking for a few minutes, I'll join in Twitter spaces, talking with my friends, watching podcasts or tech-related videos and most of the time I'll be using Twitter & LinkedIn, my feed will be about other folks' work, and being active for some time on social boosts my mind instantly when am feeling demotivated or stressed. But it's better to avoid screen time in the break times by walking with hearing songs.

What are the unfinished works?

I was inconsistent for some times/days in the journey but I counted those days also because everything is part of learning and I also want to know, how much I'm capable of, Which things are holding me back.

I did learn by doing method and worked on several projects but I didn't know the entire concept of a tool/technology. Things I've to cover are Orchestration(Kubernetes), Infrastructure Provisioning (Terraform), CI/CD Pipeline(Jenkins), and Cloud(AWS) then I'll be covering Infrastructure Monitoring(Prometheus & Grafana) & Service Mesh(Istio).

I Bookmarked & starred many projects, and have to build those projects to gain real-world experience & contribute more and also have a lot of blogs in the pending lists that will be out one by one after this article.

Conclusion:

This is all about my 300DaysOfDevOps journey folks, documenting the learning is a good thing that helps our writing skill. As I said, I'll try hard to complete those unfinished works in time. Thanks for reading guys. Hope this will help you a lot. Follow me for more content and do share, like and comments guys. Thank you once again.

Consistency Is The Key and Trust The Process.

Connect with me, LinkedIn, Twitter, GitHub.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support VISHWA S by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!