90DaysOfDevOps:

90DaysOfDevOps:

"This is my Journey through DevOps for 3 months."

·

6 min read

About Me:

Hey Folks! Am Vishwa, DevOps and OpenSource Enthusiast. Currently am doing LearnInPublic and BuildInPublic where I'll be sharing my learnings through socials like LinkedIn and Twitter (Kind of Documenting) to be accountable, Consistent and to connect with many like-minded peoples to seek knowledge from them and help each other.

My Journey through 90Days:

What did I do before this Journey?

Am currently in my Fifth semester and I did nothing in my first Three semesters but I learned some stuff like C language and did Problem-Solving occasionally, played mobile games and watched many web series. Cleared all semester exams and attained a CGPA of 8.44. Then I did certification in RPA automation.

Why I chose DevOps? and How do I know am liking It?

This all happened in my Fourth semester and I will say that this semester is the wonderful 5months of my two & half years of Engineering. Why because I searched a lot that which Domain am liking in the IT field because there are plenty of roles and domains out there, and it's very hard to find out.

One tip here to share is you will keep on searching when you search. Please try to do things in a Hands-On Way, I assure you, you will easily figure out things. The reason is I want to learn a Development skill so I chose WebDev and started learning it after 2 or 3 days dropped it because found that am missing out something so continued my search again and at that time I've seen one random roadmap to learn DevOps and I suddenly took notes. The important point is I didn't take any notes while searching before, even when I tried WebDev too.

One of my friends (Pranaav) also shared that there is a domain called DevOps and told me about Kunal Kushwaha too. Thanks to him for sharing.

The major thing is as I said earlier naturally I did one automation course in 1st semester and 4th semester I attended 7days of Hands-On RHCSA training by one academy partnered with RedHat and I learned Computer Networks, it's one of my semester courses, I attended every single lecture with full enthusiasm. Thanks to my Professor, she took it very well.

By knowing these things I found that ok we can choose DevOps as our Domain because I wanna use these somewhere and found that you will use it in DevOps and also came to know that there are many technologies you will use in DevOps like Tools and Cloud, I wanna learn about those, then found that we do Automation stuff there and I like automation too. This is the reason I chose DevOps and am learning it currently.

When I started my real Journey?

It was on August 1 2022 when Kunal Kushwaha posted a Roadmap for DevOps in his Community Classroom(WeMakeDevs). On that day itself, I started my Journey with his Resources and I've been consistent for the past three months till October 29 2022 my target is the next One year till August 1, 2023, to get good knowledge in DevOps. Even if am not Proficient enough means I won't give up, I'll keep on try to keep up the good work.

How is my Learning?

The major thing is I want to know that whether I like the DevOps domain or not so I gave the first 3 months of my journey to DevOps Pre-Requisites itself like learning Golang, Git and GitHub, Computer Networks, Linux and am still learning it and trying to Build projects then by slowly I'll move to real DevOps like Containerization, Orchestration, Building CI/CD Pipeline and Iac then Monitoring. Am spending at least Four hours plus to learn and make some progress, at some days I spent 20mins even 10mins too when I can't able to do anything to be Consistent because Consistency Is The Key. I believe that by slowly we can adapt to things. After being consistent for three months while sitting simply or if I won't do anything means it hurts me a lot to make progress.

Where do I find resources?

As I said earlier, I started with Kunal's resources and am using many people's resources like Saiyam Pathak's KubeSimplify youtube channel and his roadmap, Rohit Ghumere's roadmap and resources in his DevOpsCommunity repo then Micheal Cade's 90DaysOfDevOps Journey from his GitHub repo. Am using Open Source and Community resources to learn. Twitter helps me to find resources to learn a lot, especially since I like Tech Twitter and LinkedIn also. I try to motivate myself with LinkedIn posts and Twitter tweets and other Folks' work also literally motivates me then by watching youtube shorts too.

How I came to know about OpenSource and How am I using it?

I came to know about OpenSource contributions only because of Kunal Kushwaha. I started my OpenSource contributions on August 14 and still counting. Trying to collaborate a lot and making good contributions. I found many OpenSource projects through Twitter only. People like Eddie Jaoude, Kunal Kushwaha and many more. I wanna contribute more and I'll do it like am doing now. Am using GitHub for making Contributions.

Why LearnInPublic and BuildInPublic?

Am doing this to connect with many Big Experts and with like-minded people too. Thanks to Kunal Kushwaha because of him only I came to know that Twitter has another face called Tech Twitter, there we can seek help from others and we can collaborate with many peoples. As he said, I connected with Many Big Experts and with like-minded people too. When I face any issues, I came to know that there are a lot of people out there who can and will help us to get things done and I too gave my best to the folks who asked me doubts.

Inspiration and People I Follow:

I follow Kunal Kushwaha, Saiyam Pathak, Rohit Ghumure, and Eddie Jaoude and they are my inspirations too.

Achievements:

  1. Found what I like,

  2. Being Consistent,

  3. Network Building like connecting with Experts,

  4. Connecting with like-minded people and helping each other,

  5. Open Source Contributions.

  6. Made my RoadMap for my DevOps journey,

  7. Scheduled my Daily tasks,

  8. Motivating myself on my own when am down,

  9. Self-Belief,

  10. Made a lot of friends.

Goal:

My goal is to get Remote Job from European/American/Australian-based companies within this year of the journey not only DevOps related, anything that is Remote means that's fine If I didn't get any, I don't give up. I'll keep on trying to get Remote work till I complete my college life. This is my One Main goal and I want to Master DevOps skills. If I get DevOps-related roles mean I would be very happy. I wanna make more OpenSource Contributions and want to Build many DevOps-related projects too.

Follow my Progress here:

  1. GitHub,

  2. LinkedIn,

  3. Twitter.

Thanks for reading guys. Hope this will help you a lot. Follow me for more contents and do share, like and comments guys. Thankyou once again.

Consistency Is The Key and Trust The Process.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support VISHWA S by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!